Grading

Overview

kuraCloud now comes with a grading system (also known as marking). It allows you to create gradable questions in your lessons that can be tallied automatically, and provides tools for quick and easy manual grading of long-form answers. All question panels support grading, as well as "instant feedback" (formative assessment) options for students.

Grading is comprehensive yet very easy to use. You choose how you weight your questions – assign points (marks) anywhere from 1 to 100 (including fractional points). Autograded lessons can instantly present final grades to your students. You can also invoke deadlines, grant extensions and export all grades as a CSV file.

For questions that require manual grading, kuraCloud gives you additional tools to get it done quickly. You can add notes and model answers for your graders that appear right alongside each student's answer. Quickly see which questions remain ungraded and jump straight to them with kuraCloud's marking matrix. If necessary, you can quickly override autograded questions to fix errors made by your absent-minded professor and correct students' grades. A new "grader" role has been created which gives your staff performing the grading appropriate security permissions.

Types of Grading Workflow

Courses in kuraCloud can conform to either one of two workflows:

  • kuraCloud Grading: This is the default (and preferred) grading type for all new courses. This mode allows you to create lessons with grading that works across all question panel types. All non-written answer panels can be graded and collated automatically by the system. There is also comprehensive administrative control over grading: automatic grading can be overridden and final grades can be adjusted. Extensions can be granted and deadlines set. Final grades can be displayed automatically to students and overall grading feedback provided to them.
  • PDF grading (legacy): This mode collates the student's answers on the final page of their lesson. This page can be converted to a PDF and emailed to a staff member for manual grading.

Grading workflows are set at the course level. To change the grading workflow, go to the admin pages, select your course, and from the course card select Settings > Grading Workflow.

Note that new courses that you create will have kuraCloud grading enabled by default. However, if you have courses that were created before the November 2014 release of kuraCloud, these will have PDF grading selected. You can simply change the grading workflow of these courses by following the above instructions.

Setting Up kuraCloud Grading

In order for your students to start a lesson that uses kuraCloud grading:

  1. Ensure that "kuraCloud grading" is enabled for your course (this is on by default for all new courses, so you only need to perform this step if you want to turn it on for a course created prior to 2015).
  2. Author the lesson – add question panels and ascribe points and/or feedback to each question. More information about authoring graded questions can be found in the Authoring section of the help.
  3. Add a Completion Page to your lesson (this is also optional, but required if you would like to begin grading as soon as each student finishes their work – please refer to the explanation below).
  4. Publish the lesson so that students can begin.

A note about Completion Pages and Forcing Lesson Completion:

Completion Pages function as the digital equivalent of "turning in" or "handing in" a report, test or quiz. By adding a completion page to your lesson, students will need to click "commit" to finalize their answers. When they do this, all question panels in the lesson become locked (uneditable for that student) and kuraCloud commences grading of all automatically gradable questions. You, or people you assign to grade the course, are also able to grade the student's written answer questions at this point. Note that all of these operations occur on a student-by-student basis.

You can also use the "Commit All Work" feature to lock all students' answers and initiate grading for all students at once. Forcing lesson completion is useful where you have set a deadline and want to grade all students after this time, regardless of whether they have completed the lesson or not. If you intend to use this feature, it is not necessary to have a completion page, but by omitting it, kuraCloud will be unable to determine the number of students who have completed the lesson prior to the deadline.

To commit all student work, go to the card for the course and navigate to Student Work > Lesson > Grading > Commit All Work.

The Grading Process

Commencing grading

All grading is accessed from a lesson's Grading Card (Student Work > Lesson > Grading).

You or your staff can begin grading a lesson as soon as students have committed their answers (if you have used a Completion Page for your lesson) or if you have invoked Commit All Work from the lesson grading card to commit all student answers (refer to the note on Completion pages and Forcing Lesson Completion for more information).

Information about the progress of students is also displayed in the Grading card.

 

Granting Extensions

Sometimes you may have "closed" a lesson for grading (by committing all student work) but you wish to grant an extension to a particular student to allow them to continue working within the lesson. In this case you can "grant an extension" to unlock the lesson for that student. Granting an extension will clear all grading and feedback that may have been already entered for that student. The student must complete and recommit their work in order to be regraded.

You can grant an extension by navigating to Student Work > Lesson > Manage Student Progress, then search for the student, click their name and click Grant Extension.

You can give extensions to all students (effectively reversing the Commit All Work feature) by selecting Grant Extension To All in the Manage Student Progress Card (Student Work > Lesson > Manage Student Progress).

Resetting Student Progress

Resetting student progress is similar to granting an extension, however all work completed by the student is erased. The most common scenarios in which you'll want to reset student progress are:

  • If you have published a lesson before you intend your students to view it and some begin it prematurely.
  • You need to make critical changes to the lesson and some students have already started the lesson. These students will not be able to see the updated lesson unless their progress is reset.

To reset the progress of individual students, go to the Manage Student Progress Card (Student Work > Lesson > Manage Student Progress), select the student's name and select Reset Progress. Confirm the dialog. The student's progress will be reset. They will restart the latest published revision of the lesson and all checkpoints will be reset. Note that the student's answers for the lesson will be deleted immediately and can not be restored.

To reset the progress of all students in the lesson, go to the Manage Student Progress Card (Student Work > Lesson > Manage Student Progress) and select Reset All Progress. Confirm the dialog. All student progress in the lesson will be reset. They will restart the latest published revision of the lesson and all checkpoints will be reset. Note that all student answers for the lesson will be deleted immediately and can not be restored.

 

Group Activity

Group Activity shows the history of student work for the current lesson. It is accessible from two places:

  1. It optionally appears on the completion page of the lesson.
  2. It is available in the kuraCloud Grading interface on the Total Grade page, by clicking on the Group Activity button.

Analyzing Group Activity

Group Activity shows entries for when a group started, continued and committed a lesson. Graders can use this to get an indication of a student's contribution to the work in a lesson. For example, if a student was only added to a group very close to the commit, they may not have contributed very much to the work. It should be remembered, however, that it is possible that the student may have done previous work in a different group, or been present but not actively logged in as part of the group.