Group Work

Overview

kuraCloud's Group Work feature allows you to work in a group with other students, in person.

You and your group members can also choose to branch out and work individually if you desire, and therefore group work is graded individually. 

Forming a group

In kuraCloud, groups are formed and managed by students. Students form a group by logging in together using the Group Login page.

A group can have between one and twenty students in it.

You and your group members can check who is logged in as part of the group by clicking on the menu in the top right corner of the window.


Editing a group

You can easily reform your group at any stage by simply logging out and logging back in using the group login form with the desired group members or individually.

Group Leader

The first student to log in as part of the group becomes by Group Leader by default.


What does it mean to be the Group Leader?

If a group has the same members throughout the duration of the lesson, the Group Leader is effectively no different to any other student within the group.

If the group changes (i.e. group members are added or removed), the Group Leader represents the person whose work will get adopted when reforming groups. Other than this, the Group Leader has no additional privileges. 

Group Lessons

To work on a group lesson, you must form a group with one or more students and log in using the group login.

Once logged in, group lessons can be easily identified by the group icon.

Previewing the lesson

Before starting a group lesson, you and your group can preview the content. Preview mode is a read only format of the lesson which provides you and your fellow group members the opportunity to analyze the lesson before you commit to starting the group work. 

Starting the group lesson

Once you decide to start the group lesson, you will be prompted to review the details of your group. This is a good opportunity to check that everyone in your group is logged in and included.

Continuing your group lesson

You can easily reform your group at any stage by simply logging in using the group login with the desired group members or individually.

If your group has already started the lesson, you will be prompted to continue the lesson. This will also show you the members that have been added or removed from the group.

Your group can choose to keep the existing Group Leader, or to have another member become the Group Leader. Remember that the Group Leader represents the person whose work will get adopted by your group.

Committing your group lesson

You can commit your group lesson as a group, or you and your group members can branch out and commit individually.

Once your work has been graded, you will need to log in individually to see your grades.