Managing Courses

Overview

A course is the top level of organization within an Instance. Instance Administrators and Course Administrators can create courses and invite other staff to the course. For example, as an Instance Administrator you may create all four courses for one semester of study, BIOC111, GENE112, CELS113, ANAT114, and add course administrators and authors as staff to each course that they teach. This section covers how to create courses and delete courses, modify course settings, and manage the staff and students involved in your course.

Creating a course

All of the courses that you have access to are listed in the left sidebar. To create a new course select the Add course button located at the top of this list.

Fill in the Course Name, Short Name or both fields before selecting Create. These can be edited later using the Settings card. For more, click here.

Modifying course settings

As an Instance Administrator or Course Administrator you can edit the course settings within the Settings card.


You can edit the Course Details, configure Report Settings and Delete Course. For more information on configuring reports click here.  

If you're an Instance Administrator you can also mange the Course Administrator role from the Settings card.

Managing staff

To manage staff select Staff from the Course card. With the Manage Staff card you can Invite staff, Filter staff, and Show All.


To add staff to a course select Invite from the Manage Staff card. In the Invite Staff card you must enter their Email. You have the option to enter their given and family name too. The Staff role dropdown menu lets you select the role you want to assign them, most often this will be author.

The Show All option lists all Staff in a Search Results card. You can delete staff and restore them if you don't immediately exit the card. If you have exited the Search Results card, staff can be restored by sending another invite and selecting Restore from the Staff Member is deleted dialog.


You can Filter by Lesson, Lesson progress, Licensed, Streams, and Deleted records.

 

Student administration

Overview

Students must be invited to your course so that they can have access to all of your lessons and modules. Once invited, your Course will appear on their kuraCloud homepage, and they will have access to everything that has been published. From the admin pages, you can keep track of how your students are progressing through your lessons. Please take care to enter the correct email address of each student when inviting them to your course.

The Students Card

The Students card is accessed by selecting Students from the Course card. Here you can Import and invite students, Delete and Restore students, and filter or search for students by name.

Students that have been deleted can be found using the Search Deleted Records filter and then restored to the course by selecting Restore. 

Import Students using a .CSV File

Students can be invited via email or imported using a .csv file. Click here for more information on creating a CSV file.

kuraCloud handles the following columns in a student CSV file, any other columns must be removed before importing. Column headings must appear as the first row of the file and must precisely match the headings as they are written below.

Email

All students must have an email address, it's used to uniquely identify students in your course. All addresses must be in the format a@b.c. For example, user@gmail.com

Student ID

The student id field is optional. It can be in whatever format your course uses for identifying students. Assigning IDs to each student during import may make it easier to reconcile kuraCloud data with data you keep in other systems.

Given Name

The given name field is optional. When provided it will be used by kuraCloud to identify and greet the student.

Family Name

The family name field is optional. When provided it will be used by kuraCloud to identify and greet the student.

Section

The section field is optional. When provided it can be used as an additional way to filter students inside the kuraGrading interface.

CSV file example

 

Deleting courses

If you need to take down your Course for any reason, you are able to delete it using the Admin pages. Deleting your course will make it immediately inaccessible to all students and staff, without notification, even if they have begun progress on lessons within the Course. 

A course can be deleted from the Settings card by selecting Delete Course.

A deleted course can be restored at any time from the Deleted Courses card which is accessed from the bottom of the left sidebar. To restore the course navigate to the Settings card and select Restore Course.