Modules

Overview

Modules are nested under Courses as another level of organization. Multiple lessons can be bundled together in a Module for students to access as a group. This section covers how to create, edit, order lessons, import/export, copy, delete, and publish Modules for your students.

The image below shows how an example "Marine Invertebrates" Module, containing 3 lessons, will appear to a student.

Modules and lessons can be updated and published as the student progresses through the course. 

Creating

Modules are created from the Modules page of the Courses menu.

Editing

Once you've created a Module, you can Edit modules and add lessons.

You can also arrange the order of the lessons within the module by selecting and dragging the small blue dots next to the lesson name to a new location. 

The Students must complete lessons in order checkbox allows the author to ensure that the lessons inside a module will be completed in the order that they have specified. There is more information about this on the Lesson Locking page.

Adding details

Within the Module page, you can select Details to open the Details page for that module. Here you can change the name of the Module, add a short description, and add an image.

You can also enter Keywords to describe the Module as a way to tag modules and improve searching capability.

Lesson locking

The Module settings card comes with a checkbox for lesson ordering. Selecting this checkbox allows the author to ensure that the lessons inside a module will be completed in the order that they have specified. Each lesson that contains a completion page (report page) will have to be committed before the next one can be started. The padlock icon between each of the lessons shows a completion page that must be committed before the next lesson can be started.

In the example above, the author wants students to commit Part One before starting Part Two, and all three parts must be committed before beginning the quiz.

Once the lesson ordering checkbox is selected, students will see lessons inside that module with lock icons on them. A lock icon on a lesson inside a module is an indication that the prior lesson in the module needs to be completed before the locked lesson will be made available.

If the student attempts to open a locked lesson, they will be advised that they need to complete the previous lesson first.

Publishing

Publishing a module makes it available to your students on their kuraCloud homepages. Before you publish your module, it can only be seen by the Instance and Course Administrator, and Authors who have been invited to view it.

An entire module and all of the lessons within it can be published using the publish option within the Module page. Only Course Administrators are able to do this.

If you make any changes to lessons within the module after it has been published, you'll be prompted with this message:

If you choose to update the published module, the updated module will appear only to students who have not yet started the module.

Exporting

An entire Module can be exported and imported into a separate Course or Instance, instead of exporting and importing each lesson manually.

To do this, select Export from the gear menu on the Module page.

This will automatically download a .kura which can be imported into any other course using the option from the Modules card shown below:

Copying

Modules can be duplicated and copied to other courses by selecting Copy to course from the gear menu on the Module card. You then select which course you'd like to copy the module to from the dropdown Choose... menu, and press Copy.

Deleting

You can delete a Module by selecting Delete from the gear menu of the Module card.

Deleting a Module does not delete the lessons within it, these are still accessible from the Lessons option of the Course card.

You can view deleted modules by selecting Deleted Modules from the gear menu of the Modules card, and restore them by selecting Restore Module